Home > Teacher Accountability > Teacher Reform

Teacher Reform

You’re in the most typical high school class you can think of. You know, the one with that monotone teacher talking non-stop about a topic which has no effect on you at all. You are fighting to keep your head from falling all the way onto your desk just in case the teacher, by some chance, snaps out of “lecture-mode” and notices you are attending dreamland rather than class. I think most everyone who has ever attended high school has had a class that sounds a bit like the one which I just described. It is quite a problem with many high school classes since the creation of schools I’m sure. The problem, however, may not only be your interest in the class, it could very well be the monotone teacher. I believe teachers like this one could be the heart of the problem in education. There are many ways to start the movement towards a better education system and better teaching would be a great place to begin.

I can remember at least four or five teachers who just ruined a class completely for me in high school. I believe if only I had a better teacher for classes like chemistry or algebra then perhaps my perception of these classes would not be so bad. I absolutely hate most science classes and I believe this hatred for these classes grew on me early in my freshman year. The class was earth-space science and the way the teacher would present the subject alone would frustrate me. I often found myself confused because the teacher would talk in circled zigzags. I am just as disappointed about the class now as I was then because science was a subject I thought I would be quite interested in due to the success I had in elementary and middle school. It is a shame that my interests and successes in school were solely based on the kind of teacher that taught the class. Shouldn’t students already be provided with teachers who can deliver the content in the easiest and best way for students to learn?

You may be asking yourself at this point just how can America fix this problem, this problem which populates most every high school in every state?Well, I will be answering that riddle with a two step process which I think is quite plausible. I have a couple of suggestions which I believe can really help solve the problems with these awful teachers. Who knows maybe this blog will reach those who are in the power to make some changes and perhaps give them an inspiration to use that power to change education for the better.

The first step to making this change would obviously be to hunt out all these “bad” teachers. This may be a simple thing to say and sound easy but this step would probably be the most difficult one in the whole process. My solution to making this step a bit easier would be to ask the students themselves of the school district who these teachers are and explain why they are so bad. Also, ask the students what makes a teacher a good one in their eyes. Maybe the teacher one student talks about isn’t a bad teacher. It could just be the way the teacher presents the class. Perhaps some other students enjoy learning this way. In these cases you could put the student who dislikes the teacher into another class that may be a better fit for him/her. This step would maybe take some time but once you have identified all of the bad apples then the next step can go smooth.

The final step in this two step process is to actually take action to fix the problems with these teachers. Assuming the previous step was successful and you know how the majority of your school’s students learn best, this step really isn’t all too bad or hard. It may take some time, however, depending on how the teachers respond and how the school actually goes about taking action with these teachers. For the teachers whom none of the students enjoyed learning with, the school district could simply get rid of, although this probably isn’t the best way but the easiest. They could also have them change the way they present their classes. If they could change the class to make it easier and more enjoyable for the students to learn the material then it would be just fantastic. The school district could do this by just giving the teachers a run-down on how to change their class for the better.

Whether or not this two step process would actually work, I am not sure. I do know, however, that it is worth an attempt. Our high schools are failing our youth and this is just unacceptable. Even the successful Bill Gates has made a public statement concerning the problems with high school. You could argue against this and say it is our youth’s fault because they just seem to have no motivation. You could also say the material for the students to learn is right there in front of them, so why can’t they just learn it? However, it just isn’t that simple because I believe you have to dress education up a bit to make it a little more interesting. Today’s society is fast-paced and full of distractions so it’s hard for the youth to focus. If only education was a bit more fit for them and a lot less boring then maybe we could turn this train around. This two step process would be a shot at the moon but isn’t it those risks that need to be taken to make a change?

  1. Ali Carty
    December 9, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    I agree 100% with this topic. I’ve had a teacher in my past before that had such a monotone boring voice that it bore me and put me to sleep almost everyday. Such a issue like that is not fair to a student who is actually willing to learn in a classroom setting and trying their hardest to pay attention but can’t because they are slowly being put in a trans. What is a kid supposed to do? Your solutions are very simpilistic and could work out easy for solutions to those problems. I think board members should meet with students and ask for opinions on what they think a good teacher might be. Your right, this could help them place students in rooms with teachers they can actually engage with and learn more according to their style and the teachers. It isn’t at all fair that a kid should have to sit through a boring lecture they can’t pay any attention to without nodding off. If your going to become a teacher you should realize thse issues and be one that a kid can take something well learned each day with them when they leave. In saying all this, students will have the equal opportunity to learn and become a better student each day if these small problems are handled correctly.

  2. December 9, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Thanks for reading and commenting back! I appreciate you taking the time to read my solutions and am glad to hear I am not the only one.

  3. gregbowen
    December 9, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    Thanks for reading and commenting back! I am glad to see you agree and I am not alone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

